Barbados Parliament

Home/Government and Legal System/Barbados Parliament

Barbados Parliament

The Parliament of Barbados is divided into the House of Assembly and The Senate.

The former, known as ‘the lower house’ is made up of elected members while the members of the Senate or ‘upper chamber’ are selected.

There are 30 members in the House of Assembly and they are all elected in a ‘first past the post’ system of voting.

— The Governor General: His Excellency Sir Elliot Belgrave
— Prime Minister: The Hon. Freundel Stuart, Q.C., M.P (Leader of the Democratic Labour Party)
— The Opposition leader: Rt. Hon. Mia A. Mottley, Q.C., M.P
— Speaker of the House: His Hon. Michael A. Carrington, M.P
— Pres. of the Senate: Senator Kerry-Ann Ifill
— There are 21 members in the Senate: 12 appointed by the Prime Minister, 7 by the Governor General and 2 by the Leader of the Opposition.

Those appointed by the Governor General are known as independent senators and represent various interests in the community. These members may come from the business community, the labor movement or the church.

Members of the Senate can hold Ministerial office although they have not been elected to Parliament.

The Senate has to approve all matters that come before Parliament with the exception of money resolutions.

Written by: Brett Callaghan

Information assumed accurate on March 18th, 2013.

Other Related Articles:

– Government and Legal System
– Cabinet
– Government History