Barbados Parliament

Barbados Parliament

The Parliament of Barbados is divided into the House of Assembly and The Senate.

The former, known as ‘the lower house,’ comprises elected members while the Senate or ‘upper chamber’ is selected.

There are 30 members in the House of Assembly, and they are all elected in a ‘first past the post system of voting.

  • The Governor-General: Dame Sandra Mason (May 30th, 2012). This person is not elected but is appointed by The Monarch (Head of State).
  • Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, and Investment – Mia Amor Mottley
  • Speaker-elect of the House of Assembly – Arthur Holder
  • There are 21 members in the Senate: 12 appointed by the Prime Minister, seven by the Governor-General, and two by the Opposition Leader.

Those appointed by the Governor-General are known as independent senators and represent various interests in the community. These members may come from the business community, the labor movement, or the church.

Members of the Senate can hold Ministerial office although they have not been elected to Parliament.

The Senate has to approve all matters before Parliament, except for money resolutions.

Other Related Articles:

About Totally Barbados (Edit profile)

Brett Callaghan is the founder and managing director of Totally Barbados. I specialize in writing content for the tourism industry for my island home of Barbados. I help companies build strategies to grow online businesses with SMART marketing, advertising, and social media goals.