Full Edition or go to 

Locals Guide To BarbadosVisitors Guide To BarbadosBarbados FunBarbados Business
Totally Barbados » Business » Government and Legal System » The Cabinet of Barbados

Search our Site

The Cabinet of Barbados

The Cabinet of Barbados is led by The Prime Minister who controls a majority in the House of Assembly, advises the crown, and appoints the government senators and ministers. The Prime Minister is the leader of the majority party and is appointed by the Governor-General of Barbados.

February 21st, 2013 - present:
Democratic Labour Party

The Prime Minister: The Hon.
Freundel Stuart, Q.C., M.P

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart led the DLP to election victory on February 21, 2013. He now holds the portfolio of Minister of National Security, The Public Service and Urban Development. Before that, Mr. Stuart assumed the position of Barbados' 7th Prime Minister after his predecessor David Thompson became ill and died October 23rd, 2010.

The Cabinet

Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs:
The Hon. Adriel Brathwaite M.P

Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs:
The Hon. Christopher Sinckler M.P

Minister of Education, Science Technology and Innovation:
The Hon. Ronald Jones M.P

Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development:
The Hon. Denis Kellman M.P

Minister of Tourism and International Transport:
The Hon. Richard Sealy M.P

Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development:
The Hon. Steven Blackett M.P

Minister of Transport and Works:
The Hon. Michael Lashley M.P

Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth:
The Hon. Stephen Lashley M.P

Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business:
The Hon. Donville Inniss M.P

Minister of Environment and Drainage:
Dr. The Hon. Denis Lowe M.P

Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management:
Dr. The Hon. David Estwick M.P

Minister of Health:
The Hon. John Boyce M.P

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade:
Senator The Hon. Maxine McClean

Minister of Labour, Social Security and Human Resource Development:
Senator Dr. The Hon. Esther Byer-Suckoo

Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister:
Senator The Hon. Darcy Boyce

Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office:
The Hon. Patrick Todd

Parliamentary Secretaries

Parliamentary Secretary in Tourism and International Transport:
Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner

Parliamentary Secretary in Education, Science, Technology and Innovation:
Senator Harry Husbands

Parliamentary Secretary in Economic Affairs:
Senator Jepter Ince

Previous Barbados Prime Ministers:

January 16th, 2008 - October 23rd, 2010:
David Thompson, Democratic Labour Party

September 7th, 1994 - January 16th, 2008:
Owen Arthur, Barbados Labour Party

June 1st, 1987 - September 7th, 1994:
Erskine Sandiford, Democratic Labour Party

May 29th, 1986 - June 1st, 1987:
Errol Barrow, Democratic Labour Party

March 11th, 1985 - May 28th, 1986:
Harold Bernard St. John, Barbados Labour Party

September 8th, 1976 - March 11th, 1985:
Tom Adams, Barbados Labour Party

May 29th, 1966 - September 1st, 1976:
Errol Barrow, Democratic Labour Party

Written by:

Information assumed accurate on March 20th, 2013

Social Media Sharing
Barbados Newsletter

Join The Totally Barbados Newsletter


Other Related Articles:
» Barbados Business Guide
» Barbados Parliament
» Government and Legal System
» History of Barbados Parliament


Please read our Disclaimer of Warranties & Legal Agreement. Privacy Policy
© 2016 Totally Barbados / Brecal Inc. (246) 572-2420. All rights reserved
140 B Durants Fairways, Oistins, Christ Church, BB17097, Barbados