World Cup Cricket 2007

World Cup Cricket 2007

The Cricket World Cup is just around the corner and the anticipation is growing every day here in Barbados.

Cricket has played a very significant role in the ongoing social and spiritual development of this island and the outstanding success of the many, great Barbadian cricket players has had a profoundly positive effect on the country’s psyche. It is hardly surprising therefore that when it was officially announced that the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 would be played in the West Indies and that Barbados had been awarded the honour of hosting the final, the reaction was one of euphoria and an outpouring of national pride.

The World Cup Final has only ever been hosted by five cities in the world; London in England, Calcutta in India, Melbourne in Australia, Lahore in Pakistan and Johannesburg in South Africa. We can now add to that list the name Bridgetown in Barbados.

By awarding Barbados the rights to host the World Cup Final, the ICC has added further endorsement to the credo that, even though we may be a small island, this country can still offer world class facilities, standards and services. What is more, as an additional bonus we are able to offer those same high standards in a beautiful, peaceful and healthy natural environment that is widely recognised as one of the world’s finest hospitality and leisure centres.

When the first ever Cricket World Cup Final was played in 1975, Brian Lara, the current world record holder for both the highest Test score (401 not out) and the highest first class score (501 not out), was just six years old. West Indies won that inaugural final by defeating Australia, largely due to a spectacular century from the then captain Clive Lloyd. Lloyd and his team returned four years later in 1979 to also win the second Cricket World Cup, this time by emphatically beating England in the final on their home ground. Victory on that occasion was ensured by a brilliant unbeaten 138 from Vivian Richards, a blistering innings of 86 runs off 66 balls by Barbadian Collis King and a devastating performance from another Barbadian, fast bowler Joel Garner, with an incredible spell where he took five wickets in eleven balls.

For the World Cup in 2007, matches will be played at a total of eight venues: Antigua, Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago. The first match of the tournament will take place on Tuesday 13th March 2007 at the newly renovated Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica, between the West Indies and Pakistan. The opening rounds will feature 16 teams divided initially into four groups of four. In each of these four opening round groups, six matches will be played over the course of 11 days.

The winners and runners-up from each of the four opening round groups will earn the right to advance to the Super 8 stage of the tournament, where teams will play each of the other teams advancing – except the team which advanced with them from their opening group – for a total of six games each.

Group A – Based in St.Kitts and Nevis
1. Australia
2. South Africa
3. Scotland
4. Holland

Group B – Based in Trinidad & Tobago
1. Sri Lanka
2. India
3. Bangladesh
4. Bermuda

Group C – Based in St. Lucia
1. New Zealand
2. England
3. Kenya
4. Canada

Group D – Based in Jamaica
1. Pakistan
2. West Indies
3. Zimbabwe
4. Ireland

The Super 8 stage of the tournament, which begins on Tuesday 27 March, will be played in four countries: Antigua, Guyana, Grenada and Barbados. On Tuesday 24th April Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica will be the venue for Semi-Final One, where the second and third place finishers from the Super 8’s will square off against each other. The Beausejour Stadium in Gros Islet, St. Lucia will then host Semi-Final Two, between the first and fourth place the Super 8’s, on Wednesday 25th April.

Listed below are the various Super 8 Matches that will be played in Barbados during April 2007.

Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 – England v Bangladesh

Friday, April 13th, 2007 – Australia vs Ireland

Sunday, April 15th, 2007 – Bangladesh vs Ireland

Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 – South Africa vs England

Thursday, April 19th, 2007 – West Indies vs Bangladesh

Saturday, April 21st, 2007 – West Indies vs England

Saturday, April 28th, 2007 – Final Cricket Game

The tournament will reach its climax on Saturday 28th April, when the two semi-final winners meet at Kensington Oval in Barbados to contest the ninth ICC Cricket World Cup Final. In total, the tournament will see 51 One-Day International matches played over a 47 day period. Barbados will stage seven of those matches, the final plus six matches in the Super 8 League, which will include three of the six most competitive matches played at this stage of the competition.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 will present many logistical challenges to the organisers, but it will also offer Barbados a golden opportunity to showcase to the world two of our greatest skills – playing cricket and entertaining our guests – both of which we like to do in style and with a smile.

Other Related Articles:

About Totally Barbados (Edit profile)

Brett Callaghan is the founder and managing director of Totally Barbados. I specialize in writing content for the tourism industry for my island home of Barbados. I help companies build strategies to grow online businesses with SMART marketing, advertising, and social media goals.