Barbados Music Awards 2009

Barbados Music Awards 2009

The 4th Annual Barbados Music Awards will be held on Sunday January 4th, 2008 at The Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre starting at 7pm and hosted by Hector Lincon (USA) and Belle Holder.

Featured Performances by:
» Regina Belle (USA)
» Square One
» Buggy
» Kirk Brown
» Che’nelle (Malaysia)
» Casely (USA)
» Nhojj (Guyana)
» Adrian Clarke (Calypso Monarch)
» Khiomal Nurse (Party Monarch)
» Mya Daniel
» Ayana John
» Nexcyx
» Virtuosity Featuring Kim Derrick and Jan Gibson
» Richard Stoute
» Reeco Butcher and Quinn Belgrave (Teen Talent Kings of ’07 and ’08)
» Omar McQuilkin and Nitro
» Faith Hoyte and Ria Borman Tribute to Regina Belle)

And Special Surprise Guest Performers!

Tickets VIP All Inclusive BDS$250

Box Offices:
DaCosta Mannings (All Outlets)
A&B Music Supplies (Sheraton)
The Ticket Centre (Super Centre Warrens)
Ticket Master (Delivery) (246) 266-9259
Texaco (Wildey)
No. 1 Record Shop

BMA Nominees for 2009:

Lifetime Achievement Award – Square One

International Lifetime Achievement Award – Regina Belle

Living Legend – Anthony Walrond

Award of Merit – Winston Jordan

Wayne Poonka Willock
Myrle Niles
Win Calendar

Best Collaboration
Tara and Blood – This Is Fete
Ayana John and LRG – Paper Chase
Janna and Rasheeda – Candy World
Rihanna and T.I.- Live Your Life
Ruby Tech and Damian Marvay – Hustle

Best New Artist
Justin King
Livii Franc
Stabby De Guard
Janna and Rasheeda
Toby Armstrong and Blues Explosion

Ragga / Mid-Tempo Soca Single of the Year
Wrong Gal – Red Plastic Bag
Natahlee – Sun To Sun
Krosfyah feat. Edwin Yearwood- Nah Missing Me
Justin King – Soaking Wet
Gorg – Tipsy

Soca (up-tempo) Single
Stabby Go Stabby
Blood – That Is What I Talking Bout
Khiomal – Unleash De Beast
Edwin Yearwood – Handle Ya Business
Kirk Brown – Show Me

Best Social Commentary
Mr. Impact – Where Is My Country
Adrian Clarke – Put That In Ya Song
Red Plastic Bag – De Government Change
Sheldon Hope – How Much Longer
Classic – They Don’t See

Soca / Calypso Album Of The Year
Soca 2008 – South Central Management
Blood Ties – Redd Head Records
Loaded – Monsta Piece
More Fire Blazing – De Red Boys
Feeling Nas – Dwaintrobus

Best Non- Soca Compilation
Unpolished Underdogs – Triple E
Best Christmas Ever – CRS
Mojo Vibes – Lethal Studios

Reggae Artist of the Year
David Kirton
Seth Billy

Gospel Artist of the Year
Paula Hinds
Lana Spooner
Hosia Hinds
Crystal Cummins-Beckles
Suzanne Dottin

Jazz Artist of the Year
Rosemary Phillips
David Ziggy Walcott
Marissa Lindsay
Black Clay Soil
Andre Woodvine

R&B / Soul Artist
Ayana John
Hal Linton
Damian Marvay

Pop / Rock / Alternative Artist
Phillip 7
Toby Armstrong and Blues Explosion

R & B / Hip-Hop Artist of the Year
Ruby Tech
Fantom Dundeal

Song of the Year
Shontelle – T-Shirt
Rihanna – Disturbia
Edwin Yearwood – Nah Missing Me
Ayana John feat. LRG – Paper Chase
Rupee – Feet Don’t Fail Me Now

Video of the Year Male
Krosfyah feat. Edwin Yearwood- Nah Missing Me
Buggy – Outside Lady
Kirk Brown feat. Danny Reid – Baby
Fantom Dundeal – One Minute
Khiomal – Start De Madness

Video of the Year Female
Tara – All Night
Rihanna – Disturbia
Shontelle – T-Shirt
Tejay – Chimmie Pappa
Rihanna – Take A Bow

Album of the Year
De Red Boys – More Fire Blazing
Krosfyah – Journey
Redd Head Records – Blood Ties
Dwain Anthrobus – Feeling Nas
Triple E – Unpolished Underdogs

Band of the Year
Fully Loaded

Producer of the Year
KB #
Peter Coppin
De Red Boys
Anderson Armstrong

Songwriter of the Year
Edwin Yearwood
Stedson Red Plastic Bag Wiltshire
Janice Lady J Devonish
Chrystal Cummins-Beckles

Female Entertainer Of The Year
Ayana John

Male Entertainer of the Year
Kirk Brown
Hal Linton
David Kirton

Other Related Articles:

About Totally Barbados (Edit profile)

Brett Callaghan is the founder and managing director of Totally Barbados. I specialize in writing content for the tourism industry for my island home of Barbados. I help companies build strategies to grow online businesses with SMART marketing, advertising, and social media goals.